Playlist — December 2016

Last December I decided to start making a playlist for every month, like, well, pretty much everyone. Instead of just pushing together a bunch of songs I like every first of the month, though, I thought I’d put it together over the course of the entire month—adding a bunch of tunes in the beginning, listening to something else for eight days straight, adding that, deciding I hate some of them, deleting them, finding new bands, and on and on and on.

And then, because I think I’m pretty clever, I forced myself to limit the number of songs to however many days there are in the month. February is when I really started to hate that particular rule.

Tracklist

  1. “I Am A Rock” by Simon & Garfunkel
  2. “Bitch” by Meredith Brooks
  3. “December, 1963 (Oh What A Night!)” by Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons
  4. “Daydreaming” by Radiohead
  5. “A Hazy Shade of Winter” by Simon & Garfunkel
  6. “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield
  7. “Pulled Up” by Talking Heads
  8. “Elevator Song” by Keaton Henson feat. Ren Ford
  9. “The Only Living Boy in New York” by Simon & Garfunkel
  10. “I Can Do Better Than That” by Anna Kendrick
  11. “Sing, Sing, Sing” by Benny Goodman and his orchestra
  12. “Camisado” by Panic! At The Disco
  13. “Tea, Milk & Honey” by Oh Pep!
  14. “In the Hall of the Mountain King” by Edvard Grieg
  15. “Not Love” by Photocomfort
  16. “Memory” by Toby Fox
  17. “Twin Peaks Theme” by Angelo Badalamenti
  18. “Weekend Without Makeup” by The Long Blondes
  19. “Pyramid Song” by Radiohead
  20. “Between the Bars” by Elliott Smith
  21. “Make You Feel My Love” by Adele
  22. “Sick of Losing Soulmates” by dodie
  23. “Family” by To Kill A King
  24. “Dream A Little Dream Of Me” by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong
  25. “Undone – The Sweater Song” by Weezer
  26. “Nana” by The 1975
  27. “Step Out” by José González
  28. “Sweet Judy Blume Eyes” by Candypants
  29. “Breathe (2 AM)” by Anna Nalick
  30. “Once In A Lifetime” by Talking Heads
  31. “Impossible Year” by Panic! At The Disco

Cover art is “Oceans // FD” by Martin Siegner.

(Note: I remade my Spotify account at the end of February, but I promise this is as it originally was.)

Published by

Keaton Coleman

Cat enthusiast & self-proclaimed indie rock connoisseur. Former senior staff writer for Garage Music News, eternally a poet. Curating the niche.

Leave a Reply

