Playlist — June 2017

June took all of two seconds. Between getting affairs in order for university (Single room! No roommate! All my first choice classes! Shakespeare! On! Film!) and the void of everyone else working while I have nothing much to do (that is, other than watching Nothing Much To Do again), I feel like this month has barely even been an entire week.

The worst part of summer is by far only beginning—that’s right, picnics and fireworks and all things in the hot outdoors. Pride was certainly the beginning of that, and I don’t think I’ll ever truly get over the feeling of guilt over not going to the parade. I just really hate crowds and sweating a lot. Also I faint easily. I always have. It sucks. Whatever.

New releases wise, Bleacher’s second album kicked my ass, which I love, and Lorde’s second album failed to reach me, which I deeply despise. I’m making an effort to listen to more kickass female musicians, starting here with Mitski, Alvvays, and Daddy Issues, whose three songs on here I absolutely lose my mind to every time I even think about them. I’m also rediscovering artists in the vein of Candypants and The Dollyrots, which are equally kickass and just the kind of energetic music I really need right now.

Here’s to July being worse. Who knows what I’ll do in August in the DC humidity. Die, probably. Stay inside as often as possible, definitely. I do still have to read all those books.

(This month I also made a Last.fm account, which I think will probably show a very differently monthly listening habit than these more curated playlists, so check that out here.)

Tracklist

  1. “Rio” by MIKA
  2. “Townie” by Mitski
  3. “Country Backroads” by Theo Katzman
  4. “Summertime” by Sex Bob-Omg
  5. “Getaway” by Mother Mother
  6. “Worker Bee” by Motion City Soundtrack
  7. “Echoes and Empty Rooms” by The High Dials
  8. “Take a Walk” by Passion Pit
  9. “Dog Years” by Daddy Issues
  10. “Simply Human” by Morgan Taylor Reid
  11. “Dancing With Myself” by Generation X
  12. “Goodmorning” by Bleachers
  13. “Closing Time” by Semisonic
  14. “I Miss Those Days” by Bleachers
  15. “Nihilist Party Anthem” by Ball Park Music
  16. “Atop a Cake” by Alvvays
  17. “405” by Death Cab for Cutie
  18. “Fenn” by Tom Rosenthal
  19. “Entropy” by Grimes and Bleachers
  20. “Something Soon” by Car Seat Headrest
  21. “Forsythia” by Veruca Salt
  22. “Open Season” by High Highs
  23. “Writer In The Dark” by Lorde
  24. “Baby Come Home” by Scissor Sisters
  25. “Bad Boy” by Dan Croll
  26. “Montage” by Andy Hull and Robert McDowell
  27. “White Blank Page” by Mumford & Sons
  28. “Film” by Charlie Barnes
  29. “Divisionary (Do The Right Thing) by Ages and Ages
  30. “Baby Driver” by Simon & Garfunkel

Cover art is “Und im Sommer tu ich malen” by Hank Schmidt in der Beek and Fabian Schubert.

Published by

EJ Coleman

Cat enthusiast & self-proclaimed indie rock connoisseur. Currently a senior staff writer for Garage Music News, eternally a poet. Curating the niche.

Leave a Reply

