Why I Can’t Stop Listening to E•MO•TION Even Though It’s Already 2017

My last ever piece for GMN. Stay tuned for the late night sadness when this starts to finally sink in.

carly_rae_jepsen_e_mo_tion_artwork.0.0by EJ Coleman

“I just wanna get in my guest bathroom, which is the only room in my house without a window, just turn the lights off and sit in absolute darkness and put my headphones on and just let Jepsen carry me away. […] I wanna go on a Carly Rae voyage into myself.” — Griffin McElroy

My relationship with Ms. Jepsen has been… tumultuous at times. I first fell in love with her in 2012, when I caught the music video for “Call Me Maybe” while flipping past Disney Channel. It was (as you should know by now) incredibly enjoyable, and with a better twist than even M. Night could pull off. Every time it was on the radio I un-ironically turned the volume up in my earbuds despite my mom’s warning that “you’ll go deaf that way.”

Then came that fateful night. Carly Rae…

View original post 833 more words

Published by

EJ Coleman

Cat enthusiast & self-proclaimed indie rock connoisseur. Currently a senior staff writer for Garage Music News, eternally a poet. Curating the niche.

Leave a Reply

